Term Dates

Term 1 - 2019

 Start Day - Thursday 5th September 2019
 Finish Day - Friday 25th October 2019 at 1.00pm

Term 2 - 2019

 Start Day - Monday 4th November 2019
 Finish Day - Friday 20th December 2019 at 12.00pm

Term 3 - 2020

 Start Day - Monday 6th January 2020
 Finish Day - Friday 14th February 2020 at 1.00pm

Term 4 - 2020

 Start Day - Monday 24th February 2020
 Finish Day - Thursday 2nd April 2020 at 12.00pm

Term 5 - 2020

 Start Day - Monday 20th April 2020
 Finish Day - Friday 22nd May 2020 at 1.00pm

Term 6 - 2020

 Start Day - Monday 1st June 2020
 Finish Day - Friday 17th July 2020 at 12.00pm
 INSET Day 3 - Monday 20th July 2020
 INSET Day 4 - Tuesday 21st July 2020
 INSET Day 5 - Wednesday 22nd July 2020

 

INSET DAYS / BANK HOLIDAYS / EARLY CLOSURES 2019-2020

 INSET Day 1 - Wednesday 4th September 2019
 EARLY CLOSURE - Monday 16th September 2019 - Close at 1:00pm
 EARLY CLOSURE - Monday 24th September 2019 - Close at 1:00pm
 EARLY CLOSURE - Friday 25th October 2019 - Close at 1:00pm
 EARLY CLOSURE - Friday 20th December 2019 - Close at 12:00pm
 CHRISTMAS DAY - Wednesday 25th December 2019
 BOXING DAY  - Thursday 25th December 2019
 NEW YEARS DAY - Wednesday 1st January 2020
 EARLY CLOSURE - Friday 14th February 2020 - Close at 1:00pm 
 EARLY CLOSURE - Thursday 2nd April 2020 - Close at 12:00pm
 INSET Day 2 - Friday 3rd April 2020
 GOOD FRIDAY - Friday 10th April 2020
 EASTER MONDAY - Monday 13th April 2020
 MAY BANK HOLIDAY - Friday 8th May 2020
 EARLY CLOSURE - Monday 22nd May 2020 - Close at 1:00pm
 SPRING BANK HOLIDAY - Monday 25th May 2020
 EARLY CLOSURE - Monday 22nd June 2020 - Close at 1:00pm
 EARLY CLOSURE - Friday 17th July 2020 - Close at 12:00pm
 INSET Day 3 - Monday 20th July 2020
 INSET Day 4 - Tuesday 21st July 2020
 INSET Day 5 - Wednesday 22nd July 2020

  

Holidays in Term Time

The law does not grant parents an automatic right to take their child out of education during term time.  The Department for Education, however, does allow the Principal the discretion to consider authorising a student’s leave of absence in term time but only in “exceptional circumstances”.  If you consider that your request falls into this category you will need to complete a request form.  A response will be sent to you as soon as possible. If the withdrawal is not considered to be an exceptional circumstance, and you nevertheless take your child out of school, the absence will be recorded as unauthorized in line with current guidance.

Unauthorised absence can result in legal intervention being taken against a parent for the irregular attendance or punctuality of their child to school.  Legal intervention that may be considered includes; issue of a fixed penalty notice or consideration may be given to a prosecution in a Magistrates Court under the Education Act 1996.

 

A penalty notice is a fine of £60 which increases to £120 if not paid within the first 21 days. Thereafter, if the penalty remains unpaid this may result in legal action.  Please note that such a penalty is issued to each parent for each child taken out of school.  A conviction of an offence under Section 444(1) of the Education Act 1996 may result in a fine of £1000.  If the matter is considered to be more serious, then proceedings can be taken under Section 444(1A) and fines can be up to £2,500 or a prison sentence imposed.

 

All holiday requests must be directed to our Attendance Assistant who will send you a form to complete. Letters will not be accepted. The form should be returned to the Academy at least 14 days before the start of the absence.

In considering the decision whether to authorise the following will be taken into account:-

 

  • Reason given for your child’s withdrawal from school.
  • The time of the year/term.
  • Whether your child will miss test/examinations or preparation for these.

I hope you will support our efforts to raise attendance and attainment at our Academy.